BCGEU President and Treasurer

Stephanie Smith
BCGEU president
​Smith was elected BCGEU treasurer in June 2011 and BCGEU president in May 2014.

Paul Finch
BCGEU treasurer
Finch was elected BCGEU treasurer in May 2014.

  • Paul Finch biography (three year term: 2014-2017)

BCGEU Presidents-Emeritus

Darryl Walker 

Darryl Walker was BCGEU president between 2008 and 2014.
Darryl first signed on as a steward at the Forensic Psychiatric Institute in the early 1980’s during the time of Operation Solidarity. He sat as a component chair, and BCGEU vice president for nine years. During that period, he sat on or chaired almost every standing committee of the union. He was a member of the Master Bargaining Committee, a trainer in Occupation Health and Safety, and a representative on the Vancouver and District Labour Council. Darryl also sat on the West Coast Environment Law Board and the Labour Environment Alliance Society Board.

He retired from the BCGEU in 2014 following two terms as president.

George Heyman 

George Heyman served as BCGEU president between 1999 and 2008.

A log-scaler and grader with the forest service, George was first elected as a steward in 1978.

Since retiring from the BCGEU, George has served as the Executive Director of the Sierra Club of B.C. In 2013, he was elected as the MLA for Vancouver-Fairview. George is the opposition critic for Environment, Green Economy and Technology.