Info on Covid-19, click for more information

Election of Bargaining Committee Chair - Legal Services Society - BCGEU

 Now that nominations have closed, the next step is to elect the bargaining committee chair. In random order, the following three members have been nominated for this position:

  • Natasha Dawes
  • Eduardo Aragon
  • Deneen Garrett

BCGEU members employed at LSS will receive a ballot package specific to the position of bargaining committee chair. After the chair has been selected, the election for bargaining committee members will proceed.

Balloting packages are being mailed to all members for whom the Union has a current mailing address. Balloting instructions are enclosed on a separate page. Please follow them carefully and be sure to fill out the information on the declaration envelope and include your signature. A ballot returned in an unsigned declaration envelope will be invalid.

Your completed ballot must be received by the BCGEU by no later than Wednesday, December 4, 2019 at 5:00pm.

The information on your declaration ballot will be used to establish that you are a valid voter. Then the inner privacy envelopes will be removed from the declaration ballots. Only when all declaration envelopes have been removed will the privacy envelopes be opened and ballots counted. This is to ensure that your vote remains confidential and no one can tell how you voted.

If you do not receive a ballot through the mail, this likely means that we do not have your mailing address on file. In situations like this, you will need to contact your BCGEU area office to obtain a ballot.

To help ensure you receive a copy of bargaining updates please provide a personal email address by logging in to the Member Portal at If we already have an email address on file for you and you wish to edit or update any of your existing contact information, you can do so via the Member Portal or by calling your BCGEU area office.

Once the bargaining committee chair has been elected, another election will take place to determine the two members who will sit with the chair on the committee. Full details of that election will be forthcoming.

In Solidarity,

Ryan Stewart
Staff Representative, Negotiations

Download PDF of notice here.