Click here to find info on COVID-19

International Solidarity Committee

The committee with a plaque from Oxfam thanking the BCGEU for our support of their relief and reconstruction efforts following the April 2015 earthquake in Nepal.


  • Kari Michaels, Chair
  • Andrea Duncan, Co-chair
  • Mehdi Salem (105)
  • Siri Tilling (308)
  • Richard Ziemianski (401)  
  • Ana Treijs (509)
  • Ron Storm (601)                            
  • Coralie Gregoire (703)                             
  • Randy Sandberg (1008)  
  • Ho-Ying Kui (803)
  • Masoud Aminzavvar (803)
  • Maria Middlemiss (C12 VP)
  • Carol Wood, UWU Intersol cmtee rep
  • Rene-John Nicolas, UWU Intersol cmtee rep
  • Hasan Alam, Assistant Secretary
  • Megan Ashbury, Secretary

View a PDF presentation on the BCGEU's International Solidarity Committee


Terms of reference

  • make recommendations to the provincial executive regarding:
    • union policies in support of international solidarity including migrant workers, asylum seekers, undocumented people and refugees where applicable;
    • funding of solidarity and development projects through the Diane L. Wood International Solidarity Fund and the Tom Kozar Scholarship Fund;
    • donations in response to emerging humanitarian crises (through the General Fund);
    • relevant resolutions to BCGEU, BC Fed, NUPGE and CLC conventions.
  • the committee will liaise with other provincial executive committees, bargaining committees, cross component committees, component and local executives to promote the work of the committee and its partners;
  • the committee will promote international solidarity amongst members, the labour movement and the community.