Xyólheméylh (Fraser Valley Aboriginal Child and Family Services Society) Members Vote In Favour To Ratify First Collective Agreement - BCGEU


Members at Xyólheméylh delegated Aboriginal child welfare agency voted 77 per cent in favour of ratifying their first collective agreement. Xyólheméylh workers first joined the BCGEU in 2016 to improve working conditions and the resources necessary to provide culturally appropriate services to Indigenous children and youth in their care. After two years of protracted negotiations, this first collective agreement represents a significant step forward in securing these improvements.
"After two years of very hard work, I am so pleased that Xyólheméylh workers now have their first collective agreement that brings them in line with other social workers in terms of wages," said Andrea Duncan, vice-president of the BCGEU's community social services component. "For too long these workers faced a crisis of capacity. Through collective bargaining, members will now see improvements in working conditions and therefore their ability to support the Indigenous children and youth in their care."
Highlights of the agreement include:

  • An immediate wage increase for all employees, ranging from 3.5 per cent to 5.3 per cent, and subsequent wage increases over the term of the agreement;
  • The implementation of the Public Service Pension Plan realizing a five per cent increase in compensation, (and a five per cent increase in employee contributions); and
  • Fair job posting and selection processes. 

The new collective agreement which covers 150 workers will be in effect from February 21, 2019 until June 1, 2022.
Please share this email with your co-workers. Members are also encouraged to keep their email information up to date. To provide updated contact information, please visit the member portal at my.bcgeu.ca.

In solidarity,
Your Bargaining Committee: Sandra Postnikoff and Brent Camilleri; special thanks to members Deb Young and Dena Silver as well as BGGEU staff Stephanie Ryan and Selena Kongpreecha.